Formula E’s governing body, the FIA, have today (June 19) revealed the provisional calendar for season seven (2020/2021) of the all-electric series, its first season as a World Championship.

Held during a virtual FIA World Motorsport Council due to lockdown conditions, the draft calendar will see the 12 teams and 24 drivers go head-to-head in 12 cities over 14 rounds, including an as yet undisclosed location.

Actually beginning in 2021, the latest ever start to a Formula E season, the opening event takes place in Santiago’s Chile on January 16, before concluding seven months later in London with a double-header at the ExCeL centre.

The calendar is also set to be one of the most condensed on record with just 190 days separating the first and final rounds.

Alongside announcing the calendar, the FIA World Motor Sport Council also approved modifications to the championship’s sporting regulations in line with Formula E’s new world championship status. Measures to reinforce economic, social and environmental sustainability efforts were also agreed and are expected to be shared at a later date.

Commenting on the announcement, Envision Virgin Racing’s Managing Director Sylvain Filippi said: “Having been involved with Formula E since the beginning, it’s always an exciting time to see where we’ll be racing next but, more importantly, the new cities and audiences we’re able to showcase sustainable racing to. This season has undoubtedly been incredible tough on the organisers with so many proposed new cities that we weren’t able to visit, but hopefully we’ll now get that chance and everyone at Envision Virgin Racing is looking forward to yet more intense competition.”

He added: “I also particularly welcome the news regarding the championship’s planned economic, social and  sustainability efforts and look forward to hearing more.”

Pre-season testing or in-season tests have yet to be confirmed. The proposed season seven calendar will now be ratified by the FIA at the next WMSC in Paris on 9th October.

2020/21 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship – Provisional calendar
Rd 1 Santiago Chile January 16, 2021
Rd 2 Mexico City Mexico February 13, 2021
Rd 3 Diriyah Saudi Arabia February 26, 2021
Rd 4 Diriyah Saudi Arabia February 27, 2021
Rd 5 Sanya China March 13, 2021
Rd 6 Rome* Italy April 10, 2021
Rd 7 Paris France April 24, 2021
Rd 8 Monaco* Monaco May 8, 2021
Rd 9 Seoul* South Korea May 23, 2021
Rd 10 TBC TBC June 5, 2021
Rd 11 Berlin Germany June 19, 2021
Rd 12 New York City USA July 10, 2021
Rd 13 London* UK July 24, 2021
Rd 14 London* UK July 25, 2021

*Subject to circuit homologation