A Misano E-Prix to forget as the focus turns to Monaco

A double retirement for Envision Racing brings the curtain down on a tough double-header weekend in Italy 

Retirement for Robin Frijns and Sébastien Buemi capped a disappointing inaugural Misano E-Prix weekend for Envision Racing, meaning the team leaves Italy and heads to the Monaco E-Prix without any points from the double-header.

In qualifying Group A on Sunday morning, Frijns drove superbly and progressed into the knockout phase. As team-mate Buemi settled for 17th on the grid, Frijns took on Nico Müller in the first quarter-final, however the Envision Racing man had no answer for the Swiss driver’s speed.

Frijns would ultimately have to take seventh on the grid for the second race of the weekend.

At the start of race two, Frijns made a solid start, maintaining seventh and looking to take sixth from Sam Bird as Jake Hughes led the opening lap from Jean-Éric Vergne. The opening laps saw a slightly less frantic make-up compared with the previous day’s competition, however the leading pack remained at close quarters.

By lap five, Frijns held 10th position as team-mate Buemi struggled to make progress down in 20th. One lap later, Frijns took his first Attack Mode phase as leader Nick Cassidy handed first position to Müller.

It all went wrong for Frijns on lap six. The Dutch driver found himself in the gravel trap and out of the race following contact with Sam Bird and António Félix da Costa, contact which unfortunately broke the front wing of the Envision Racing machine and seemed to leave parts lodged against the tyre.

This left Buemi as the sole Envision Racing driver in the race, and with the action hotting up in the battle for the lead between Müller, Pascal Wehrlein, Oliver Rowland, and Hughes, the Swiss driver made some progress, running 14th by lap 13 of 26.

Any hope of further gains ended on lap 15 as Buemi pitted and retired with damage to the car, closing the book on the hope of any points this year at Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli.

Following an entertaining battle for the victory, leader Rowland dramatically slowed on the final lap, handing the victory to Wehrlein ahead of Dennis – with Cassidy clinching third right on the line from Müller.

Drivers’ standings (after Rd 7):

1. Pascal Wehrlein, 89pts
2. Jake Dennis, 89pts
3. Oliver Rowland, 80pts
4. Nick Cassidy, 76pts
5. Maximilian Günther, 65pts
12. Robin Frijns, 21pts
13. Sébastien Buemi, 20pts

Teams’ standings (after Rd 7):
1. Jaguar TCS Racing, 128pts
2. Andretti Formula E 112, pts
3. Porsche Formula E Team, 109pts
4. Nissan, 98pts
5. DS Penske, 73pts
8. Envision Racing, 41pts