Envision Racing’s Robin Frijns emerges from a challenging first race in Mexico to remain at the top of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship

For the first time the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship headed to the Autódromo Miguel E. Abed in Amozoc de Mota in Mexico and Envision Racing’s Robin Frijns survived a difficult opening race of the weekend to maintain his lead as long-time race winner Pascal Wehrlein was sensationally disqualified.

After a memorable Monaco E-Prix in which Frijns claimed second place following one of the most dramatic races in the sport’s history, the Dutch driver was forced to dig deep in Mexico and came home in 16th, as at the front of the field it was non-stop drama and intrigue.

Despite winning on the road, Porsche Formula E Team’s Wehrlein ended up being disqualified, handing the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler team a one-two finish with Venturi Racing’s Edoardo Mortara rounding out the podium.

Championship leader Frijns managed to overcome a 10 second penalty and came home unscathed to start round nine and the second day of racing in Mexico at the top of the championship standings. Unfortunately, Frijns’ Envision Racing team-mate Nick Cassidy ended his afternoon in the wall during the early stages of the race, but will get another chance to shine in round nine on Sunday afternoon.

2020/2021 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship
Puebla E-Prix – Round 8 – Provisional race results:

1. Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, 28 laps (25pts)
2. Rene Rast, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, +0.497s (18pts)
3. Edoardo Mortara, Venturi Racing, +2.774s (15pts)
4. Alexander Simms, Mahindra Racing +10.443s (12pts)
5. Jake Dennis, BMW I Andretti Formula E, +11.473s (10pts)
6. António Félix da Costa, DS Techeetah, +11.624s (8pts)
7. Stoffel Vandoorne, Mercedes-EQ Formula E Team, +12.022s (6pts)
8. Mitch Evans, Jaguar Racing, +12.351s (4pts)
9. Nyck de Vries, Mercedes-EQ Formula E Team, +12.936s (2pts)
Alex Lynn, Mahindra Racing, +13.154s (1pt)
16. Robin Frijns, Envision Racing, +17.942s

Drivers’ standings (after Rd 8):
1. Robin Frijns, 62pts
2. António Félix da Costa, 60pts
3. Nyck de Vries, 59pts
4. Rene Rast, 58pts
5. Mitch Evans, 58pts
18. Nick Cassidy, 19pts