Formula E has been granted World Championship status by its governing body the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) from the start of the 2020/21 season.

The FIA, and sitting members of the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC), recently voted upon and agreed to move forward with certifying Formula E as an FIA World Championship.

Formula E joins the likes of Formula 1, the FIA World Endurance Championship, the FIA World Rally Championship and the FIA World Rallycross Championship as an official ‘World Championship’ status series.

The use of World Championship status can only be granted to a series that has four ‘automobile makes’ participating on average over an entire season.

The transition also incorporates specific commercial costs to entitle the granting of the status.

Founder & Chairman of Formula E Alejandro Agag – alongside FIA President Jean Todt – signed the agreement together at FIA headquarters at Place de la Concorde in Paris, to officially confirm world championship status for season seven.

FIA President Jean Todt commented: “Since we started this journey, Formula E has undoubtedly gone from strength to strength. Since its first race in Beijing in 2014 and with every E-Prix thereafter, Formula E has proven that the concept of cutting-edge electric racing works. I wholeheartedly welcome Formula E as the latest FIA world championship.”

Envision Virgin Racing’s Managing Director Sylvain Filippi added: “Having been involved in Formula E since day one, it’s fantastic to have watched the championship grow into the series it is today. I know it has taken huge efforts by everyone involved to get to this point and this news is testament to that hard work by Formula E, the FIA, all teams, drivers and partners.”

The next Formula E race takes place in Santiago, Chile on 18 January 2020